Menu Close


The Central European History Society sponsors a book and article prize for the best work in Central European history. The book prize, awarded each year, is named in honor of the pioneering social historian Hans Rosenberg. The article prize, awarded every other year, is named in honor of the historian and first female President of CEHS, Annelise Thimme. For the article prize, essays published in the previous two years are eligible.

Hans Rosenberg Book Prize

The deadline has passed for 2019. Books published in 2020 will be eligible for the upcoming prize, with an anticipated submission deadline of July 2021.

The Central European History Society (CEHS) solicits nominations for the Hans Rosenberg Book Prize. This annual prize honors the best book in central European history published in English by permanent residents of North America. This year’s award considers books with an imprint of 2019. Central European history is understood to include all German-speaking countries as well as areas previously included within the Habsburg monarchy.

The CEHS discourages submissions of reprints, second editions, multi-authored anthologies, and document publications. The award will be announced at the annual meeting of the American Historical Association in Seattle on 6 January 2021.

Nominations received by 31 August 2020 will receive full consideration. Please send one book to each of the following three persons:

Prof. James Retallack
100 Thompson Avenue
Toronto, ON
Canada M8Z 3T8

Prof. Dominique Reill
5 Island Ave., Apt. 11A
Miami Beach, FL 33139

Prof. Molly Loberg
History Department
California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407

Questions? Please contact Brendan Karch, CEHS Executive Director.

Annelise Thimme Article Prize

Nominations will be due in Summer 2021 for articles published in 2019-2020.

The Central European History Society (CEHS) awards the biennial Annelise Thimme Article Prize, which recognizes the best English-language article or essay on Central European history written by a permanent resident of North America. The Society solicits nominations from authors, editors, presses, and third parties for the best article or essay published in the last two years. The prize committee will consider journal articles as well as individual essays from anthologies or collections. Re-printed essays are not eligible. Articles and essays published outside North America are, of course, eligible. Central European history is understood to include the history of Germany, Austria, and other German-speaking regions of Central European, from the medieval era to the present.